This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Improving encoding times

Oct 10, 2012 at 2:47 AM

I'm not a programmer, but, I know that encoding software that uses QuickSync, CUDA, or APP(?) encode files so much faster than the CPU. Can you look at adding this feature in?

Oct 12, 2012 at 2:27 PM

Yes you're correct, I do have some ALPHA protoypes for CUDA with me which have shown a 5x to 10x increase in performance over CPU based encoding. However some of the algorigthms used on the prototypes are licensed for commercial distribution.

I'm not sure if people are willing to pay a license fee for using hardware encoding in MCEBuddy so I've haven't pushed for moving from ALPHA to BETA/release.

Oct 16, 2012 at 4:32 AM

what of a free/donation version we call "LE" and a paid version with the different encoding method?  Then users decide.

I'd pay for something faster because honestly I'm not sure I'll keep at it to do my whole collection.  My last HD conversion took just under 4hrs...yikes.

Oct 18, 2012 at 5:36 PM

I'm OK for paying............

I'm using MCEBuddy with an WHS2011 with Intel Atom D525......it's too loooooonnnnnnngggggggg to encode !!!!

Already install an nVidia Cuda video card, for the futur MCEBuddy.......

Dec 1, 2012 at 1:26 AM

rboy1, what kind of pricing would we be talking for a version with gpu encoding support?  Think that'd be a key deciding factor.  Many people like myself go by overall VALUE vs absolute price while others are so sensitive to price they wouldn't consider it above anything except free so for those it's a no-go either way.

Also, what about Intel Quick Sync? Does that require paid license to utilize?  Supposedly that can be like MUCH faster that software-only & faster than even GPU assisted encoding. As more & more Intel chips support it people like myself who have one & prefer onboard video for mcpc (to reduce size, power consumption, heat generated, fan noise & costs) could benefit.
Thx