This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

MCEBuddy before and after

Jan 13, 2013 at 4:00 AM

I do not wish to sound negative about MCEBuddy but I feel I must give my feedback about what I see. I have been using MCEBuddy since January 2010. Back in 2010 MCEBuddy converted files more quickly than the current 2012 new versions. Back then MCEBuddy would just run two sequences and a 1 hour HDTV recording would take about 1.5 hours to convert on my old dual core processor computer. Now, with a more powerful computer which has a quad core processor it takes about 2.5 to 3.5 hours to convert a 1 hour HDTV recording. Also there are about 3-4 sequences which run in new versions. Pass 2 takes the longest. Pros of new versions are good settings and options. Cons is that it has become extremely slower than versions from three years ago. If I am doing something wrong which is making my file conversions take longer, please advice.

Coordinator
Jan 13, 2013 at 4:44 AM

I've made this comment before:

There is significant difference in the quality and choices. High Quality profiles are better in quality but take more time to finish. I would suggest you use the Normal or Fast profiles, they are good quality recordings and pretty fast too.

what profile are you using?

As a last option you use the old profiles and migrate them to the latest version, if you post the profile here I can help you translate it to he newer versions.

One thing is for sure, apples to apples (same profile) - the newer versions are 30% faster than the older versions of MCEBuddy - again the key is to keep the profile the same.

Old MCEBuddy did not do very well with HD video, which is primarily for hte 2 pass conversions. for SD video I would stick with Fast or Normal. Post your profile or convert to it the newer versions and see the speed difference.