This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Converting Freeview files - Audio sync

Apr 14, 2013 at 2:15 AM
Hi

I'm new to MCEBuddy but have spent some time reading the documentation

I am having problems converting .WTV files containing content from UK Freeview channels.

The first problem is audio sync. I have had this problem when using other software to try and convert these files, basically the audio drifts further out of sync as the file plays, so if it is in sync at the beginning it might .5 secs out at 50% and 1 sec at 100%. As the error accumulates, I can't delay the audio as it not a fixed amount.

I have tried extending the -ss value but it hasn't made any difference on my test files.

I did find on a non WTV mpeg-2 file (using other software) that using CBR for the audio significantly reduced the problem and in some cases got rid of it, I've tried creating a new profile using

libmp3lame -ab 128k

which as I far as I can find should be cbr but when I check the file info it is still reported as VBR

Any ideas?
Coordinator
Apr 14, 2013 at 4:15 PM
What profile are you using? The vbr may be referring to the video.

Have you tried different encoders like handbrake instead of mencoder?

Apr 14, 2013 at 6:17 PM
I am using the three DIVX profiles plus a test profile based on the DIVX AVI Normal where I have changed the audio to lame as in previous post, it's definitely the audio that is reported as VBR, I am loading the file into VirualDub and it is reporting it.

I'll try some other decoders and see if the problem is consistent.
Coordinator
Apr 14, 2013 at 11:29 PM
are you facing the same issue with say the Apple Fast profile?

Apr 15, 2013 at 6:01 PM
I tried it this afternoon video looked OK but no audio at all on the file!

However, I found the following produced a CBR audio no apparent sync issue on the files I have tested so far

mencoder-audio=-oac mp3lame -lameopts cbr=yes:br=128