This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

fixing header stripping on MKV and MP4 with AC3 encoding

May 17, 2013 at 2:15 PM
I've been using MCE Buddy (on 64 bit Win 7) for a few months successfully converting WTV files to MKV but I started having problems when we hooked up a PS3 to our TV in the bedroom. Sometimes a file will have a problem playing.
From what I've figured out, these errors on mkv files are usually the result of header compression and when I look at some of my converted to mkv files, I see "header stripping" in mediainfo. I don't know if that's the culprit for sure but when I convert problem files to mp4 with handbrake manually they stream fine to the PS3.
I have two questions about my options for how to deal with this.
1) How do I prevent header compression or stripping?
2) I could choose to encode to MP4 in MCE Buddy... but I have some problems with the profile.
I'm trying to edit the profile so that I get an MP4 file with AC3 for audio. (My living room TV won't play sound if it's encoded using AAC.)
I tried by copying all of the audio encoding lines from the MKV part of the profile to the MP4 High part but that didn't help.
So one solution to my problem is (maybe) ensuring there's no header funkiness, if that isn't the problem or isn't doable, I want MCE Buddy to generate an MP4 with H.264 video encoding and AC-3 6 channel audio, but I don't seem to have the right code in my profile?
Thanks for any help.
Coordinator
May 18, 2013 at 5:22 AM
2 points here:
  1. Fixing the MKV header compression issue should not be a problem, thanks for reporting it. If you can upload the original file (and profile) which are causing hte issue, I can replicate and put a fix for it in the next release. Header Compression is a common issue with MKV files, most players don't support it (WHO know why), but it can be disabled without any issues or impact. I need the file to replicate it.