Use recycling bin doesn't work


The "use recycling bin" feature seems not to work. When clicked, deleted files are not appearing in the recycling bin. This occurs with .wtv files, have not tried it with other file types. Will post a log/profiles later today.

file attachments

Closed Aug 19, 2013 at 10:35 PM by rboy1


rboy1 wrote Aug 6, 2013 at 3:07 AM

it works fine, just tested witih windows 8 64bit.

Post you log. Have you checked Delete Files and Use Recycle bin?

rboy1 wrote Aug 11, 2013 at 2:44 PM

no update, assuming it's working fine

wrote Aug 19, 2013 at 10:35 PM

wrote May 15 at 1:35 PM

petebocken wrote May 15 at 1:35 PM

Same problem has happened to me. I have Delete files and use recycle bin checked but it still deletes the files and never sends them to the recycle bin.

rboy1 wrote May 15 at 9:33 PM

What files are being deleted and not being sent to the recycle bin? This only works on the original files and nothing else. What build and OS are you using?

petebocken wrote May 20 at 1:41 PM

The .wtv files from WMC.

INFORMATION> --> Windows OS Version -> Microsoft Windows NT 6.3.9600.0 (WIN_8_1_2013_SERVER_R2, Professional)
INFORMATION> --> Windows Platform -> 64 Bit
INFORMATION> --> MCEBuddy Build Platform -> 64 Bit
INFORMATION> --> MCEBuddy Build Version :
INFORMATION> --> MCEBuddy Build Date : 05/16/2015 15:09:32
INFORMATION> --> MCEBuddy Running as Service : True

I have tried enabling this feature off and on since I started using MCEBuddy the last year or so.

I've also noticed lately that the .wtv files are not automatically moving to the archive folder I have setup or sometimes they are copied but not deleted from my recording folder. I am still monitoring this issue and I can reply back later when I have done more testing.

petebocken wrote May 20 at 3:53 PM

FYI - I had "Delete original file" checked in General Settings, but I noticed that you can also delete or archive original file under the Monitor Locations > expert settings. This also did not place the file in the recycle bin, it just deleted it. I double-checked and I have "Use recycle bin" checked in General Settings > System Settings.