This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Converting UK Freeview files - Aspect Ratio

Apr 14, 2013 at 1:22 AM
I'm new to MCEBuddy but have spent some time reading the documentation

I am having problems converting .WTV files containing content from UK Freeview channels.

My second problem is aspect ratios.

My first test was for a BBC1 program which converted with the divx profiles to 720x576 and displays as 16:9 in MC7, however my second file was an E4 file and when converted using the same profile I get a 528x576 file which when played in MC7 has black bars down the sides (the original file plays full screen).

I have tried a new profile

ffmpeg-video=-ss 3 -vf yadif=0:-1,hqdn3d -vcodec libxvid -b 1200k -f avi -flags +mv4+aic -g 300 -bf 1 -aspect 16:9

But it made no difference

Any ideas?
Coordinator
Apr 14, 2013 at 3:17 PM
Instead of aspect try disabling the cropping. This can be found in the advanced settings of the conversion task page or you can include it in the profile directly. Refer to doc

Apr 14, 2013 at 5:39 PM
I have run a test with cropping disabled and it hasn't made a difference to playback.

Looking through the log the original file seems to 528x576 and is not being re-sized or cropped, so it is reasonable to have an output file with the same dimensions, however, when played in MC7 as a WTV file it is stretched to full screen with no margins, when I play back the converted DIVX AVI file in MC7 whilst there is stretching, it is not full screen, so I am wondering if there is some sort of flag in the original that is not in the converted file, or if there is, it has the wrong value.

Whilst this file is the most extreme, I have noticed that a couple of the other files I have converted have had odd dimensions, e.g. 704x576 and these are not stretched to full screen either, it is only if the file is 720x576 that it works, so I am guessing that they are defaulting to 16:9.