This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Total Newb here, don't think HW acceleration is working

Mar 9, 2016 at 12:14 AM
Edited Mar 9, 2016 at 1:46 AM
Hi. I have the latest donation version of MCEBuddy. Running it on Win7 with an i5-2500k, and a Nvidia GTX 960. I'm converting WMC TV recordings to basic MP4 files, one pass. HW acceleration is enabled. I suppose I don't know what to expect, but I guess I assumed things would be a bit speedier, especially with the GTX 960.

A standard 1 hour episode (OK, 45 minutes) takes approximately 36 minutes to process. I was thinking half that? When I use GPU-Z I see my card only running along at 1%, which I assume is what it takes to run my screen.

I truly have done a bunch of searching, but so far most of this is greek to me, and I'm hesitant to start mucking around with stuff until I better understand what I'm doing. Any help is appreciated. Here's a log file... https://www.dropbox.com/s/xcl8b3f7fn5a6iu/The%20Blacklist_KGWHD_2015_10_01_20_58_00.wtv-Convert%20to%20MP4-2016-03-08T07-33-41.5533895-08-00.log?dl=0
Coordinator
Mar 9, 2016 at 12:55 PM
If you go through your log file and search for nvenc you'll see that it's using your hardware acelleration. You can can customize your profile to enable/disable specific encoding parameters to get the most out of your nvenc encoder. (e.g. disable bpyramid)

Mar 9, 2016 at 1:09 PM
Thanks for the response. Frankly, I'd done the search of the log file, but missed that particular item. There's a lot of information available, and it's a bit (no offense) fragmented. But I'm trying to collate it in my brain. I'm also still not sure whether or not I should be pursuing trying to increase the processing speed, as I don't yet know what would be considered fast. So...