This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

File Size Using Custom Profile - Newb Questions

May 15, 2016 at 9:09 PM
Edited May 16, 2016 at 3:06 AM
Hello All!

So I'm relatively new to MCEBuddy and need some clarification/confirmation on a few things.

I wanted to create a custom profile that would convert any source file (primarily WTV and MKV rips from BD) into a smaller MKV that retains relatively high video quality, has 1 bit-for-bit copy of original audio, and 1 audio track downmixed to stereo. I wanted to do it single-pass to keep the conversion time reasonable.

I based my profile loosely off the MKV High Quality profile. The changes to the profile I made are:
  1. Changed from 2-pass to single pass.
  2. Uses only Handbrake.
  3. On Handbrake video options, I replaced the bitrate (-b) option with the constant quality (-q) option and set to 20 (hoping to minimize file size and keep quality pretty high).
  4. Revamped the audio options to look only at the 1st source audio track, then encode 2 tracks on the output file. 1st track is passthru with sampling rate, bitrate, and downmix options set to auto. The 2nd track is encoded using AAC with sampling rate set to auto, bitrate at 160, and downmix set to stereo.
As far as MCEBuddy options, I used the following:
  1. Set width slider all the way to the right.
  2. Enabled the "Detect and optimize video quality" option (although not sure if that makes a difference with the above changes).
  3. Enabled multichannel audio option.
  4. Disabled "Select best soundtrack" option.
  5. Enabled hardware acceleration option (I have an Intel chip with QuickSync).
  6. Using Comskip donator version - detect ads only (will tweak EDL file for later removal).
  7. Using "USA Wilky13" custom comskip ini with a couple of my own tweaks.