This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Nvidia gtx 560 hardware lack of acceleration

Feb 14 at 8:36 PM
Edited Feb 15 at 1:06 PM
I've been running MCEBuddy for a couple of years very happily, and I'm pretty sure hardware acceleration was never working, but things were going fast enough, so I didn't look into it. But then a few weeks ago, I upgraded to the newest release of MCEBuddy (2.4.6), and things really slowed down.

First, I discovered that the fresh update had overwritten my poorly installed Donator copy of Comskip, so I downloaded a fresh copy, installed it in a different directory, repointed the link to Comskip in the Settings, and that part started working just fine again.

In the process, however, I had started to look at the heretofore unexamined log files, and discovered a stack of persistent errors, in addition to no entries at all about my Nvidia card. So I went through the doc on this forum and ploddingly installed first Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2013 (and the considerable overburden of crap that comes with it), then the recommended CUDA package (7.5) from Nvidia. It all went in with no errors, and with plenty of reboots, so no reason to be suspect.

Then I turned on hardware acceleration in the MCEBuddy settings, and ran a conversion. The log file bore an exact resemblance to all those that had come before, i.e., no change.

It seems clear that the Intel QuickSync method is preferred, but I had bought a processor without onboard video (in order to save a few bucks: it's an Intel Core i5-2550K CPU @ 3.40GHz,), so I'm stuck with my Nvidia GeForce GTX 560, which is supposed to work, no? But it doesn't seem to, and I'm out of suggestions to make it work, so I'm posting this plea for help.

Here's a copy of a log file:

WARNING> 2017-02-14T12:26:00 MCEBuddy.MetaData.VideoMetaData --> TheMovieDB failed
WARNING> --> Unable to connect to IMDB